Home / Departments / Math

 

math

The Royal Bay Math Department strives to bring the best in mathematics education to our students. Our goal is two-fold: to expand students’ minds and perspectives through the lens of mathematics, and to prepare them for post-secondary programs or the workplace. Courses are carefully designed and constantly modified to meet the changing needs of our students.

In order for students to experience the greatest success, careful course selection is critical. Please see the math courses offered at Royal Bay, and recommended pre-requisites for each, below:

math 4

Useful Linksmath 2

General Math Help, by topic

Kahn Academy: https://www.khanacademy.org/

 

Free Graphing Software (great for checking solutions)

Desmos: https://www.desmos.com/

Wolfram Alpha: https://www.wolframalpha.com/

 

Pre-calculus 11 lessons, by section in workbook

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/   search Oikawa PC 11

 

Tutors

Some families have had success finding tutors through the UVic website: https://www.uvic.ca/ search math tutors to get the most updated list

 

 

Important Dates

Friday, February 10 – deadline to apply for University of Waterloo Math Contests (grades 9-11)

see your math teacher to sign-up

 

Tuesday, February 28 – Grade 9-11 University of Waterloo Math Contests

Start Time: 10:48 (Block A)

Location: Conference Room

 

March 21 – deadline to apply for University of Waterloo Math Contest (grade 12)

see your math teacher to sign-up

 

April 6 – Grade 12 University of Waterloo Math Contest

Time: to be determined

Location: to be determined

 

Early June (exact date to be determined) – Math 100 Final Exam

 math 3

 

 

 

Staff List                                 Email

Kristy Bignell                           kbignell@sd62.bc.ca

David Booth                            dbooth@sd62.bc.ca

Maria Hotovy                          mhotovy@sd62.bc.ca

Greg Oikawa                           goikawa@sd62.bc.ca

Angela Puszka                         apuszka@sd62.bc.ca

Brent Watson                          bwatson@sd62.bc.ca

Heidi Young-Thompson           hyoungthompson@sd62.bc.ca